The spring board meeting of the Board of Directors of the WV Association of Counties enjoyed the hospitality of Wood County June 8th to 10th and were welcomed by Wood County Commissioners Wayne Dunn, Blair Couch, and Steve Gainer; Assessor Rich Shaffer; Circuit Clerk Carole Jones. Prosecuting Attorney Jason Wharton and County Clerk Mark Rhodes also attended the meeting.

The meeting agenda items included committee reports for adoption of the FY 2015 budget and approval of preliminary plans for the 2015 Conference of Counties. The ProAct Prescription Discount Drug Card was endorsed and the Student Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America from WV State University presented a rough cut of the county government videos they are producing. A “cracker barrel session” for discussion of “the salary saga” was conducted followed by a review of legislative issues affecting counties at the “Issues and Eggs” breakfast meeting the next day.

New officers and board members were sworn in by Board Secretary, County Clerk Jan Pest. Monongalia County Sheriff Al Kisner closed out his presidency and Greenbrier County Assessor Steve Keadle began his term as President.


Board of Directors


Jan Pest, Marshall County, County Clerk

Immediate Past President: Nancy Cartmill, Cabell County, Commissioner

Vice Presidents:

Phyllis Yokum, Assessor, Randolph

Donnie Evans, County Clerk, Monroe

Paul Flanagan, Circuit Clerk, Raleigh

Perri DeChristopher, Prosecutor, Monongalia

Tim McCormick, Commissioner, Ohio

Sonya M. Dingess Porter, Sheriff, Logan


Circuit Clerks

Arlene Mossor, Ritchie

Sue Ann Zickefoose, Boone

Scott Lemley, Wetzel

Laura Storm, Jefferson

Angela Banks, Jefferson

Carole Jones, Wood

Greg Vandall, Summers

Virginia Sine, Berkeley


County Clerks

Jack David Woodrum, Summers

Linda Huggins, Preston

Denise Eskew Scalph, Fayette

Verlin Moye, Mercer

Ron Watson, Harrison

Diana Cromley, Mason

Mike Taylor, Randolph

Susan Thomas, Harrison

Prosecuting Attorneys


Rachel Romano, Harrison

Pete Dougherty, Jefferson

Jim Samples, Clay

Jim Riffle, Marion

Gerry Hough, Gilmer

Bryan Ward, Hardy

Brooke Fitzgerald, Doddridge

Mark Brady, Randolph

Director Emeritus

Michael Parker, Randolph County, Prosecutor

Brenda L. Miller, Ohio County, Circuit Clerk

Robert Pasley, Wayne County, Commissioner

Jean Friend, Monongalia County, Circuit Clerk

David “Bugs” Stover, Wyoming County, Circuit Clerk

Carol Smith, Upshur County, County Clerk, WVACo Secretary

Legislative Priorities Adopted

Over sixty county officials met at Oglebay Resort for the Board of Directors meeting of the WV Association of Counties. Several items of business were approved and legislative priorities for the 2014 legislative session were adopted.

The meeting opened with a welcome from Ohio County Circuit Clerk Brenda Miller, Assessor Kathie Hoffman, and Commissioner Tim McCormick as well as Marshall County Commissioner Bob Miller.

Over 75 participants attended the Fall Board Meeting at Stonewall Resort

Lewis County Commissioner Agnes Queen and Patrick Boyle along with Sheriff Mike Gissy and Assessor T Chad Kelly welcome everyone to Lewis County’s Stonewall Resort.

Sheriffs’ Association Director Rudi Raynes Kidder along with Sheriffs Mike White, Tom McComas, John Hawkins and Prosecutor Michael Sparks discuss their legislative priorities for 2013.

Megan Grasso and Jason Karpman of the Council for State Governments’ Justice Reinvestment Study explain their findings so far to the Board, as part of their analysis of West Virginia’s prison overcrowding problems. Among many other issues, they have found that revocations of parole are playing a role.

Assessor Steve Keadle presents their legislative priorities in preparation for voting and adopting issues for 2013.

Circuit Clerks are presented with a special gift from WVU Athletic Director Oliver Luck in recognition of their 75th anniversary as an organization.

US Attorney Booth Goodwin talks about federal law enforcement issues of interest to counties, including substance abuse, identity theft, and sovereign citizen activity.

WVACo Legislative Priority Benefits all Non-State Entities in PEIA

On its fourth try through the Legislature, Senate Bill 365, sponsored by Senators Laird, Plymale, Beach and Miller, becomes effective July 1, 2012. This bill was a legislative priority of the WV Association of Counties and other non-state participants in PEIA, the Public Employees’ Insurance Agency. One representative on the PEIA Finance Board will be appointed to represent the interests of participating political subdivisions. The bill adds one additional appointment from the public at large, creating a board of 10

members appointed by the Governor plus the Secretary of the Department of Administration.

The non-state participants in PEIA are an entirely separate pool from the state employees. We make up about 10% of PEIA participation with over 800 nonstate entities including counties, municipalities, public service districts, and many various authorities and organizations. This bill provides a direct voting representative for the non-state interests.

For county officials, every day presents new challenges. NACo offers ways to help county officials and their staffs find solutions to the many problems they face.

The NACo Web has a quick way to access resources NACo provides. It includes information from and about conferences, webinars and training programs. It showcases NACo’s many publications and collections of successful county programs. And it provides key research data and also sample codes and ordinances so you can save time and money.

Take advantage of this resource to gain the knowledge that can help you to better serve your residents. But don’t stop here. Check out Becoming Involved and take an active role in the success of your association.


Commissioner Jerry Berry Elected President

The following officers and board members were elected at the business general session of the West Virginia Association of Counties Annual meeting on February 8th and will take office at the Spring Board of Directors Meeting in June:

President – Commissioner Jerry Berry, Summers County
Immediate Past President – Prosecutor Gerry Hough, Gilmer County

County Classifieds

so so so so...

Upcoming Dates

3 Aug
County Commissioners Association of WV
Date 08.03.2019 - 08.05.2019

From the Director

26 March 2019
Another session of the WV Legislature has been completed, and WVACo found success this year in passi...
05 October 2018
We just held our 2018 Fall Board Meeting of WVACo at the Blennerhassett Hotel in Parkersburg - Wood ...
05 October 2018
Wow! Our new website! Welcome. What do you think?  Check it out: the counties' page that gives ...